Monday, September 7, 2009

Nigerian women win The 2009 African Women Leadership Awards

The women from Nigeria that won the 2009 African Women Leadership Awards for their exemplary leadership qualities and community service are Mrs Alanyingi Sylva, wife of Governor of Bayelsa State; Dr Nechi Ezeako, company secretary of FinBank Plc, Yeye Bolanle Dare, proprietor, Mother Theresa Orphanage and Children's Home in Abuja, Mrs Sean Olagunju, director of news at Raypower; Dr Nafisatu Muhammad, executive secretary, National Commission for Nomadic Education, and Dr Betty Nnadi, proprietor of Home Aid Care Ltd based in the U.K.

The awards were presented in London to the six Nigerian ladies for their exemplary leadership qualities and community service.

Esther Austin was the mistress of ceremonies at Royal Lancaster Hotel. She described the women awarded as "individuals who have provided on unfailing example of the highest level of professionalism, a quiet dignity and bearing, character and integrity".

The organisers, Executive Reach, based in the U.K. said the winners "have all been known to be consummate team players, bettering any situation through their involvement. Each of the individuals selected are driving development, innovation, growth and providing long term opportunities for the larger society in their various areas of influence".

This Day

Related stories: Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala for President

Chimamanda Adichie on African Voices

Nigerian lottery winner gives entire cash prize to beggar

No comments:

Post a Comment